Skip to main content

Middle States Welcomes Eight New Commissioners

By August 27, 2019December 30th, 2021No Comments

The team at Middle States works hard to support the successful development of your school. Our team is made up of much more than our staff. Volunteers serve as peer-reviewers on Visiting Teams, serve as reviewers on advisory committees, and some serve as Commissioners overseeing the process of accreditation. Using their expertise, these volunteers help ensure your school meets our standards while also fostering your individual mission and values.

The Commissioners are the final step of your accreditation process.The Commission on Elementary Schools and the Commission on Secondary Schools are comprised of 38 Commissioners serving a three-year term and elected by the Middles States membership. Twice a year, they meet in Philadelphia to review all materials and make accreditation decisions. Comprised of local, national, and international education leaders as well as business and legal leaders, the Commissioners’ knowledge of our membership and educational institutions ensures our schools reach the highest standards.

This year, Middle States welcomes eight new Commissioners. Each Commissioner brings a strong background and a diverse understanding of the multifaceted world of education. We are proud of their leadership abilities and look forward to them establishing strong relationships with our members and the greater educational community.

Middles States new Commissioners:
  • Ligia V. Alberto, Ed.D., Director of the Bergenfield Alternative School
  • Ted Beal Jr., Axa Executive
  • James Evans, Esq, Barclay Damon
  • Sarah Gallagher, Head of School for Marymount International School Rome
  • Ana Meyers, Executive Director of PA Coalition of Public Charter Schools
  • James E. Tucker, Superintendent of the Maryland School for the Deaf
  • Tara Weber, G. Harold Antrim Elementary School Supervisor
  • Frank Whelan, Founder And President of ASI Career Institute and E-hired

Leave a Reply