Skip to main content

Thirteen Philadelphia Archdiocesan Schools Earn Middle States Reaccreditation

By April 26, 2016December 30th, 2021No Comments

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE  Contact: Kim Maialetti
April 25, 2016  (267) 258-0076

PHILADELPHIA, Pa. — The Middle States Association Commissions on Elementary and Secondary Schools announced today that 12 elementary schools and one high school in the Philadelphia Archdiocese earned reaccreditation, the gold standard for measuring and advancing school improvement.

“The accreditation process examines schools in a holistic way, supplementing student testing data and providing a more complete measure of a school’s performance,” said Henry G. Cram, Ed.D., president of the Middle States Association Commissions on Elementary and Secondary Schools. “School leaders, teachers and parents are to be commended for working together to create a concrete plan focused on providing high quality education for all students.”

Accreditation is a multifaceted process that schools voluntarily use to demonstrate they are meeting a defined set of performance standards. The accreditation process helps schools – and ultimately students – to continuously grow and improve.

The process begins with a self-study that is conducted by the school and requires input from school leaders, teachers, parents and students. Following the self-study, a team of volunteer educators from Association member schools conducts an on-site peer review visit to observe school operations and interview various stakeholders.

The visiting team makes its recommendation to the Middle States Association Commissions, which voted to accredit or reaccredit more than 100 schools and school systems in 11 states and Puerto Rico and seven countries at its biannual meeting earlier this month.

The following Philadelphia Archdiocesan schools have been re-accredited by Middle States for the next seven years:

• Saint Katharine Drexel Regional Catholic School, Holland, Bucks County
• Cardinal John Foley Regional Catholic School, Havertown, Delaware County
• Mater Dei Catholic School, Lansdale, Montgomery County
• Our Lady of Mount Carmel School, Doylestown, Bucks County
• Saint Hilary of Poitiers School, Rydal, Montgomery County
• Saint Margaret School, Narberth, Montgomery County
• Saint Helena School, Blue Bell, Montgomery County
• Christ the King School, Philadelphia, Philadelphia County
• Saint Jerome Catholic School, Philadelphia, Philadelphia County
• Holy Cross Elementary School, Springfield, Delaware County
• Our Lady of Grace School, Penndel, Bucks County
• Pope John Paul II High School, Royersford, Montgomery County
• Saint Martin of Tours School-An Independence Mission School, Philadelphia, Philadelphia County

About Middle States Association Commissions on Elementary and Secondary Schools (MSA)
The Middle States Association is a worldwide leader in accreditation and school improvement. For over 125 years, MSA has been helping school leaders establish and reach their goals, develop strategic plans, promote staff development and advance student achievement. With more than 2,700 MSA-accredited schools in the United States and nearly 100 other countries, MSA is proud of its continuing legacy and its ongoing innovations to meet the challenges of the 21st century and improve educational opportunities for all children.

Leave a Reply