Skip to main content

Twenty-five Catholic Schools Earn Top Recognition

By May 4, 2020December 18th, 2021No Comments

The Middle States Association Commissions on Elementary and Secondary Schools (MSA-CESS) announced that 25 Catholic schools in 12 dioceses and archdioceses earned accreditation or reaccreditation, the gold standard for measuring and advancing school improvement.

“At Middle States, we recognize that the accreditation process should address the diversity and unique qualities that make every school special,” said Lisa Marie McCauley, Ed.D., president of MSA-CESS. “Simply put, there is no one-size-fits-all approach to accreditation, and our goal is to help all schools develop and implement a strategic plan so they can continue to grow and improve.”

Middle States accredits preK-12 public, private, parochial, and charter schools. In addition, MSA-CESS accredits non-degree granting career and technical post-secondary institutions, special purpose schools, supplementary education centers, learning services providers, and distance education institutions.

Middle States accreditation is a multifaceted evaluation process that schools and school systems voluntarily use to demonstrate they are meeting a defined set of research-based performance standards. The 12 Middle States Standards for Accreditation are: mission; governance and leadership; school improvement planning; finances; facilities; school organization and staff; health and safety; educational program; assessment and evidence of student learning; student services; student life and activities, and information resources.

The accreditation process begins with a self-study that is conducted by the school or school system and requires input from school leaders, teachers, parents and students. Following the self-study, a team of volunteer educators from Middle States member schools conducts an on-site peer review visit to observe school operations and interview various stakeholders.

The visiting team makes its recommendation to the Middle States Association Commissions, which voted at its bi-annual meeting this week to accredit or reaccredit 101 schools and school systems in 12 states as well as Puerto Rico, and 14 other countries. The meeting was held virtually because of the coronavirus.

“The Middle States accreditation process helps schools push beyond day-to-day responsibilities to engage in long-term planning and demonstrate that they are holding themselves and their students to the highest standards,” said Middle States Commissioner Louis P. DeAngelo, Ed.D., superintendent of schools and secretary of Catholic education for the Diocese of Wilmington. “The process extends beyond student testing data to provide a more complete measure of a school’s performance.”

These 25 schools include:
Academy of Mount Saint Ursula, Bronx, NY 
All Saints Catholic School, Cresson, PA
Ancillae-Assumpta Academy, Wyncote, PA
Cape Trinity Catholic School, North Wildwood, NJ
Central Catholic High School, Pittsburgh, PA
Colegio Maria Auxiliadora, Carolina, PR
Delone Catholic High School, McSherrystown, PA
Epiphany School, Sayre, PA
Good Shepherd Catholic School, Perryville, MD
Holy Rosary School, Duryea, PA
Holy Sepulcher School, Butler, PA
Monsignor Scanlan High School, Bronx, NY
Northern Cambria Catholic School, Nicktown, PA
Oratory Preparatory School, Summit, NJ
Our Lady of Fatima School, Aliquippa, PA
Providence Heights Alpha School, Allison Park, PA
Saint Andrew Elementary School, Waynesboro, PA
Saint Anselm School, Philadelphia, PA
Saint Jane Frances De Chantal School, Easton, PA
Saint John’s College High School, Washington, DC
Saint Joseph School, Oradell, NJ
Saint Theresa School, New Cumberland, PA
Saint Wendelin School, Butler, PA
Villa Maria Academy, Malvern, PA
Waldron Mercy Academy, Merion Station, PA
Pictured: Saint Jane Frances De Chantal School, Easton, PA

Leave a Reply